Travel series

 

In a way, constituting an unfinished souvenir album, this series began during a trip to New York. The inspiration arises from the charm caused by the frenzy of the city and the duality observed between the conservation of natural environments as opposed to large urban centers.

The project presents places  visited that aroused a certain confusion. The interest comes from the different urbanized spaces and the impressions that emerge from them. For this series, the use of peaceful images helps to reconcile oneself with everything that is happening in the present. This is a project that aims to extend over time. It tends to move away for a moment from current concerns and convictions to take refuge in a haven of serenity and regain some hope in today's society.

The photographs taken on the spot are modified and reinterpreted by drawing on recycled boards. The choice of materials, the size and the use of black and white pencil aim to create a certain neutrality. This allows the viewer to focus on the image, its composition and details, rather than being distracted by a shape or color that stands out

 

"I am very interested in the question of identity, both physical and cultural. I question the relationship that the individual has with his own body as much as with the environment that surrounds him. The way we transform our environment reflects who we are. Through photography and drawing, I try to preserve samples of sensations experienced in order to make the viewer travel by bringing him to feel the complexity of certain places.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Maude Tapin

Toronto (série voyage)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Golden (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Reykjavik (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Durocher (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Toledo (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Segovia (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Tunis (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Bradenton (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Santo Stefano Al Mare(série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Paris (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
Times Square (série voyages)
techniques mixtes
7 X 15 PO

350$
New York
techniques mixtes
21 X 29 PO

500$
Show More

Série voyages

 

Constituant en quelque sorte un album souvenir inachevé, cette série a débuté en 2011, lors d’un voyage à New York. L’inspiration naît du charme causé par la frénésie de la ville et la dualité observée entre la conservation de milieux naturels par opposition avec les grands centres urbains.

Le projet présente des lieux  visités qui ont éveillé un certain  trouble. L’intérêt provient des différents espaces urbanisés et des impressions qu’il s’en dégage. Pour cette série, l’utilisation d’images paisibles aide à se réconcilier avec tout ce qui se passe dans l’actualité. Il s’agit d’un projet qui vise à s’étendre dans le temps. Il  tend à s’éloigner un instant des préoccupations ainsi que des convictions actuelles pour se réfugier dans un havre de sérénité et retrouver un peu d’espoir en la société actuelle.

Les photographies prises sur le fait sont modifiées et réinterprétées au dessin sur des planches recyclées. Le choix des matériaux, de la dimension ainsi que l’utilisation du crayon noir et blanc visent à créer une certaine neutralité. Cela permet au spectateur de se concentrer sur l’image, sa composition et ses détails, plutôt que de le laisser se distraire par une forme ou couleur qui se démarquerait des autres.

 

« Je m’intéresse beaucoup à la question de l’identité, autant physique que culturelle. Je questionne autant la relation que l’individu entretient avec son propre corps qu’avec l’environnement qui l’entoure. La façon de transformer notre environnement traduit qui nous sommes. Par la photographie et le dessin, je cherche à conserver des échantillons de sensations vécues dans le but de faire voyager le spectateur en l’amenant à ressentir la complexité de certains lieux. »

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Maude Tapin

© Maude Tapin 2020